Solely Barefoot

Barefoot 24/7/365 since August 2010!

I want to build a Co-op Kitchen.

with 2 comments

I’ve had this idea for a while.
I want to pool money and supplies with some other people and build a kitchen that will be certified and licensed properly to make, package, and distribute/sell food legally.
I want to do this in Pittsboro, NC.  I  chose this location because I have a feeling there may be other people in that general area that want to do the same sort of thing, or are wishing they had a separate kitchen for their food business idea because they have pets.

I have pets.  Two cats, a dog, and a rat.
All of them are considered “pests” for a kitchen.

My apartment is also not owned by me, and the kitchen area size is not sufficient for a food preparation area on a large scale.

So I thought perhaps I could rent an already certified kitchen, or I could start a co-op kitchen.

To successfully start it, I would need five people to be a part of this.  That includes me.  More are welcome, but five is the minimum.
I do not know if there would be a monthly fee for using the kitchen.  That may have to be decided after the co-op is established.
It actually may be easier to have a monthly fee, though, because there will be electricity and water bills and such.
Oh, and I want it to be as eco friendly of a kitchen as possible.  It’d be awesome if we had money right away for solar panels, but if we don’t, we can save up for that later.
Well water would be ideal.
Heating and air conditioning can be a combination of windows and thermal ceiling.
And hey, if someone in the group has an awesome idea, I would love to hear it!  I want our kitchen to be the BEST.

We would pool our money for awesome appliances.  (This is part of the great bit of having a co-op.  We get to have nice things!)
We may be able to get some support and donations from people who like the idea, but don’t necessarily need a co-op kitchen.

We would have fun, make friends, try each other’s food experiments for feedback, have food parties, and generally have a great time.
I expect there will be squabbles once in a while, but hey, we can deal with those as they come. :)

So if you find this blog post and you live in North Carolina and want to be a part of this co-op kitchen I would like to start, please leave a comment with the area you would like it to be located and any other ideas or thoughts or questions you have.  I will email you and we will start planning!

-Star

 

Written by Star

23 December 2011 at 1:59 PM

Posted in Green Living, Life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. how do i do this

    Chernobyl pictures

    28 December 2011 at 4:41 PM

    • Hey! I’m not sure how to do it. I’m sort of figuring it out as I go along. :) Are you in my area? Do you want to contribute to this collaboration?

      Star

      29 December 2011 at 7:31 PM


Leave a Reply

